Thursday, September 9, 2021

1972 – Unser, Foyt Run 1-2 in Hoosier 100

Al Unser

Indianapolis, Ind. (September 9, 1972) – Al Unser won the Hoosier Hundred for the third straight year Saturday, making the Indiana State Fairgrounds dirt track an even friendlier place than the Indianapolis Motor Speedway across town.

Unser, who has won the Speedway 500 twice, was fast qualifier on Saturday and led most of the 100 laps around the 1-mile horse track.

A.J. Foyt led briefly early in the race but obviously had the slower car could not challenge Unser towards the finish.

Foyt nailed down his first career United States Auto Club dirt track championship, however, to round out his spectacular racing career.

The Houston, Tex., driver, a five-time USAC national champion and three-time Indy 500 winner, took the dirt division crown despite severe injuries suffered in a pit fire at Du Quoin, Ill., early in the season. He has also been a USAC stock car and sprint car champion.

There was another pit fire at the Indiana State Fairgrounds Saturday, but Foyt was not involved. The fuel tank of veteran Arnie Knepper’s car exploded during a refueling stop, injuring five crewmen.

One of the men was seriously injured, two were admitted to the local hospital but were said to be “in no distress” and two others were treated and released.

Unser’s winning speed was 89.04 miles per hour. Attendance for the event was 17,628.

Results –

1. Al Unser
2. A.J. Foyt
3. George Snider
4. Sam Sessions
5. Greg Weld
6. Roger McCluskey
7. Jim McElreath
8. Rollie Beale
9. Joe Saldana
10.Ron Burke
11.Jimmy Caruthers
12.Tom Bigelow
13.Carl Williams
14.Ralph Liguori
15.Rick Goudy
16.Bob Evans
17.Bill Puterbaugh
18.Mike Mosley
19.Lee Kunzman
20.Arnie Knepper
21.Jerry Miller
22.Don Nordhorn
23.Bob Harkey
24.Larry Dickson

No comments:

Post a Comment