Friday, September 3, 2021

1960 – Barton Wins State Fair Finale

The checkered flag and winner’s trophy went to Buzz Barton and car owner Irene Lempelius (center). Making the trophy presentation is Bobbi Moore of Ames, Miss Iowa in the International Speed Queen contest. Holding the checkers is IMCA's Woody Brinkman.

Des Moines, Iowa (September 3, 1960) – Buzz Barton, a 43-year-old auto mechanic, was $750 richer Saturday when he surprisingly won the Iowa State Fair Sweepstakes 15-mile big car race before a crowd of 9,500.

More surprising was the failure of the top two International Motor Contest Association drivers, Pete Folse of Tampa, Fla., and A.J. Shepherd of Gardena, Calif., to finish in the money feature.

Shepherd eliminated himself on the fourth lap when he spun out on the east turn of the half-mile dirt oval.

Folse, the leading driver in IMCA, was never in contention and blamed himself for using the wrong set of tires on the fast and hard track.

“I thought knob tires would dig in on the hard track and I guessed wrong,” Folse said afterwards. “I should have used slick tires. I had the best seat in the house as I watched everyone else pull away from me.”

Ray Duckworth of Anderson, Ind., moved ahead after Shepherd’s spin and set the pace until the 27th lap, one and a half miles from the checkered flag.

Then Barton, running second from the halfway mark, made his move and gunned his Chevrolet past Duckworth and into first place where he stayed.

Anderson settled for second while Jerry Richert of Forest Lake, Minn., was third and Bill Sullivan of Broderick, Calif., was fourth. The time of the race for the 15-miler was 14 minutes and 11.53 seconds.

Results –

Heat #1 – A.J. Shepherd, Gardena, Calif.
Heat #2 – Bill Burdick, Kansas City
Heat #3 – Ray Duckworth, Anderson, Ind.
Consolation – Duke Hindahl, Pekin, Ill.
Feature –
1. Buzz Barton, Tampa, Fla.
2. Ray Duckworth
3. Jerry Richert, Forest Lake, Minn.
4. Bill Sullivan, Broderick, Calif.
5. Duke Hindahl
6. Herschel Wagner, Hickman Hills, Mo.
7. Gordon Woolley, Waco, Tex.
8. Marvin Faw, Minneapolis
9. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
10.Jim McElreath, Arlington, Tex.

No comments:

Post a Comment