Tuesday, September 14, 2021

1972 – Davenport Tri-State Victory to Eaker

Davenport, Iowa (September 14, 1972) – Verlin Eaker of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, won the annual Tri-State Invitational late model feature at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds on Thursday night.

The event had 43 cars signed in with Fred Horn of Marion, Iowa, the fastest in time trials, with a clocking of 26.39 second on the half-mile dirt oval. This put Horn and Eaker on the front row for the 35-lap championship feature.

Eaker would take the lead at the drop of the green and never look back, winning handily at the finish. Horn would grab second while John Connolly of Delhi, Iowa, finished third.

Fourth and fifth place was a photo finish as Bill McDonough of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, just beat Roger Dolan of Lisbon, Iowa, at the wire.

Mike Wheeler, Jim Gerber, Karl Sanger and Ray Guss were heat winners while Mike McNeal won the semi-main.

Results –

1. Verlin Eaker, Cedar Rapids
2. Fred Horn, Marion
3. John Connolly, Delhi
4. Bill McDonough, Cedar Rapids
5. Roger Dolan, Lisbon
6. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
7. Ray Guss, Milan, Ill.
8. Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids
9. Duane Steffe, East Moline, Ill.
10.Karl Sanger, Waterloo
11.Benny Hofer, Rock Island, Ill.
12.Larry Fabris, Sycamore, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment