Tuesday, September 7, 2021

1957 – Beauchamp Wins SoDa Feature


Huron, S.D. (September 7, 1957) – Johnny Beauchamp, the current point leader in the International Motor Contest Association stock car standings, zoomed around the track in record time to win the feature event in the late model stock car races at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds on Saturday afternoon.

Beauchamp, from Harlan, Iowa, toured the 30-lap feature race in hiss 1955 Chevrolet in the time of 15 minutes and 24.71 seconds for a new track record. Ernie Derr, the two-time IMCA point champion, was second and Bob Burdick, currently second in points behind Beauchamp, finished third.

The hot-footed Beauchamp lapped every car in the race with the exception of Derr and Burdick, in roaring to his record-breaking fete.

Beauchamp also had the fastest time in qualifying, speeding around the half-mile in 31.11 seconds. Derr was second quickest at 31.18 seconds.

The Harlan, Iowa, ace also won the first 10-lap heat with a time of 5 minutes and 21 seconds and placed second to Bob Hardy of Beaumont, Tex., in the 6-lap trophy dash.

Burdick, the youthful 22-year-old driver from Omaha, won the second heat in the time of 3 minutes and 53.58 seconds for 7 laps.

Chris Skadal of Minneapolis took the novelty race with Dick Johnson of St. Paul, Minn., in second.

In the semi-main, it was Dick Pellow of Minneapolis winning in the time of 2 minutes and 46.68 seconds with Hardy in second and Derr finishing third.

Results –

1. Johnny Beauchamp, Harlan, Iowa
2. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Bob Burdick, Omaha
4. Bob Hardy, Beaumont, Tex.
5. Jerry Draper, Moline, Ill.
6. Dick Johnson, St. Paul, Minn.
7. Chris Skadal. Minneapolis
8. Al Warrender, Minneapolis
9. Dick Pellow, Minneapolis
10.Kenneth Lee

No comments:

Post a Comment