Monday, September 12, 2022

1976 - Watson wins Carter Classic

Dave Watson accepts his trophy after winning the Wayne Carter Classic. 

Morris, Ill. (September 12, 1976) - Dave Watson took advantage of Larry Schuler’s blown engine in the 72nd lap of the ‘Wayne Carter Classic’ Sunday afternoon at the Grundy County Speedway to win the 100-lap ARTGO Racing twin-bill.

In the midget portion Jim McClean won the 30-lap feature, but Jim Gates was the big winner as he finished in front of Don Vogler in the feature for the UARA point championship by a mere 11 points.

McClean passed Lars Lein for the midget feature lead in the 19th lap and was off to the win, but Gates passed Vogler midway and then held off his challenge at the finish of the event, finishing second.

The late model feature saw Tom Musgrave take the lead at the green flag and hold it for 10 laps before Don Gregory moved ahead. Back in the pack, Watson broke through first with Schuler in pursuit and getting in front on the 17th lap.

Schuler scooted into the lead on the 21st lap and was four car lengths in front when apparently a piston broke sending him to the sidelines.

Bob Senneker was second and Ed Hoffman was third. Finishing fourth was CAM 2 winner Ray Young. Johnny Zeigler was fifth followed by Bob Strait, Gregory, Larry Nipple, Lee Schuler and Ed Dunne.

Dunne won the SK Tool 30-lap semi-feature. Tony Hertko won the late model consolation and Gregory won the heat race. Zeigler won the American Tool and Engineering Challenge Cup.

Results –

1. Dave Watson
2. Bob Senneker
3. Ed Hoffman
4. Ray Young
5. John Ziegler
6. Bob Strait
7. Don Gregory
8. Larry Nipple
9. Lee Schuler
10.Ed Dunne
11.Rusty Wallace
12.Dave Roahrig
13.Larry Schuler
14.Ted Musgrave
15.Tom Musgrave
16.Butch Stevens
17.Tom Jones
18.Jerry Kemperman
19.Dave Evans
20.Steve Lurvey

No comments:

Post a Comment