Sunday, August 8, 2021

1982 – Wolfgang wins ‘Jayhawk Nationals’

Doug Wolfgang

Kansas City, Kan. (August 8, 1982) – Doug Wolfgang of Sioux Falls, S.D., won the sixth annual Jayhawk Nationals sprint car race Sunday, before what appeared to be a record crowd for Lakeside Speedway.

Wichita’s Mike Peters won the pole position through time trials, with Wolfgang on the outside of him. Wolfgang jumped into the lead at the drop of the green and was never headed, leading all 30 laps.

Numerous caution laps during the race created concerns for drivers regarding fuel. Wolfgang ran out gas coming out of turn four and heading for the checkered flag.

Tom Corbin of Carrollton, Mo., also ran out of gas on the last lap, which caused him to drop from second to third place at the finish. Bob Hop of Mendota, Minn., sped past Corbin on the front stretch to claim the runner-up position.

Heat races were won by John Stevenson of St. Paul, Minn., Bill Robison of Topeka, Kan., Corbin, and Roger Rager of Mound, Minn. T.J. Giddings of Kansas City won the semi-main.

Wolfgang was driving a car for Jerry Frantsen of Windom, Minn. When asked when he first felt confident of winning the race, he responded, “At 4 am this morning when I left Eldora (Ohio).”

Results –

1. Doug Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, S.D.
2. Bob Hop, Mendota, Minn.
3. Tom Corbin, Carrollton, Mo.
4. Rick Weld, Kansas City
5. Pat McKeehan, Windsor, Mo.
6. Rick Lemanski, Fox Lake, Wis.
7. Randy Smith, Norwalk, Iowa
8. Brad Noffsinger, Huntington Beach, Calif.
9. Cheryl Glass, Seattle, Wash.
10.Dale Vernon
11.Terry Doss, Tula, Okla.
12.John Stevenson, St. Paul, Minn.
13.Rodger Wright, Sugar Creek, Mo.
14.Terry Smith, Raytown, Mo.
15.Jerry Walkingstick, Bartlesville, Okla.
16.Bill Robison, Topeka, Kan.
17.T.J. Giddings, Kansas City
18.Gene Gennetten, Gladstone, Mo.
19.Mike Peters, Wichita, Kan.
20.Roger Rager, Mound, Minn.

No comments:

Post a Comment