Sunday, August 29, 2021

1970 - Iowa Drivers Dominate Sedalia

Fred Horn

Sedalia, Mo. (August 29, 1970) – Although 10-time International Motor Contest Association stock car champion Ernie Derr was not here to defend his 100-mile Missouri International title at the State Fairgrounds, the Iowa driving tradition was carried on by Fred Horn.

Horn, behind the wheel of a 1970 Plymouth, carried away the first-place money of $1,000 in the time of 1 hour, 13 minute and 33 second. The time was better than two minutes short of the old mark of 1 hour, 11 minutes and 27 seconds set by Dick Hutcherson in 1962.

Only three cars completed the 100 circuits; in addition to Horn, second place finisher Ron Hutcherson of Keokuk, Iowa, and Mike Derr, also of Keokuk, completed the required distance.

Young Mike, the 23-year-old some of veteran IMCA campaigner Ernie Derr, posted his best finish ever in International Motor Contest Association competition.

Gordon Blankenship, yet another stock car driver from Keokuk, grabbed fourth place. Rounding out the top five finishers was Johnny Snow of Bolivar, Mo.

The race was virtually accident-free, but California, Mo., driver Gary Martin lost control of his 1969 Ford Torino between the third and fourth turns, the car suffered heavy damage.

Fred Whisler’s car escaped severe damage when he lost control of his Ford Torino on the backstretch early in the race.

Gerry Harrison, Topeka, Kan., starting on the outside front-row position and an early race leader, was forced from the 1-mile oval within the first 10 laps.

The day’s fastest time was set by Fred Horn; he was clocked at 40.31 seconds. Gordy Blankenship was second in the time trials at 40.53 seconds.

Results –

1. Fred Horn, Marion, Iowa
2. Ron Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Mike Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
4. Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk, Iowa
5. John snow, Bolivar, Mo.
6. Lewis Taylor, Shawnee, Kan.
7. Fred Whisler, Liberty, Mo.
8. Jerre Wichman, Kansas City
9. Butch Hall, Russell, Minn.
10.Paul Wallis, Gardner, Kan.


No comments:

Post a Comment