Friday, August 19, 2022

1989 – Wolfgang Wins Fifth Title at Knoxville

Doug Wolfgang

Knoxville, Iowa (August 19, 1989) – Doug Wolfgang led all but briefly to win the 29th annual Knoxville National Sprint Car Championships Saturday night before 18,000 fans.

Wolfgang, of Sioux Falls, S.D., took the initial lead but lost it briefly in the first turn, regained it coming out of the second turn.

Steve Kinser, Bloomington, Ind., followed Wolfgang until he was sidelined on lap 20 with a flat tire.

Kinser had to go to the back of the field but recovered to finish sixth in the 30-lap feature.

Dave Blaney of Courtland, Ohio, was second followed by Steve Smith Jr., of New Oxford, Penn. Sammy Swindell of Bartlett, Tenn., was fourth and Bobby Davis Jr., of Memphis, Tenn., rounded out the top five.

It was Wolfgang’s fifth national title. He also won in 1977, 1978, 1984, and 1985.

Swindell set a new track record in the 5-lap dash. A regular weekly competitor at Knoxville, Swindell turned in a time of 1 minute and 22.7 seconds, breaking his own record he set back in April.

Jac Haudenschild, Jason McMillen, Randi Turner and Bobby Marcum won preliminary features.

Haudenschild, of Millersburg, Ohio, won the 22-lap “B” feature. McMillen, of Carmichael, Calif., won the 15-lap “C” feature. Turner, of San Jose, Calif., won the 12-lap “D” feature and Marcum, of Tucson, Ariz., won the 10-lap “E” feature.

Results –

1. Doug Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, S.D.
2. Dave Blaney, Courtland, Ohio
3. Steve Smith Jr., New Oxford, Penn.
4. Sammy Swindell, Bartlett, Tenn.
5. Bobby Davis Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
6. Steve Kinser, Bloomington, Ind.
7. Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville, Ohio
8. Keith Kauffman, Mifflintown, Penn.
9. Randy Smith, Mt. Ayr, Iowa
10.Andy Hillenburg, Broken Arrow, Okla.
11.Frankie Kerr, Selinsgrove, Penn.
12.Chris Eash, Woodbine, Md.
13.Ricky Hood, Booneville, Ind.
14.Mark Kinser, Oolitic, Ind.
15.Bobby Allen, Hanover, Penn.
16.Don Kreitz Jr., Sinking Spring, Penn.
17.Jeff Swindell, Memphis, Tenn.
18.Johnny Herrera, Albuquerque, N.M.
19.Joe Gaerte, Rochester, Ind.
20.Rocky Hodges, Danville, Ind.
21.Jac Haudenschild, Millersburg, Ohio
22.Ray Lipsey, Lincoln, Neb.
23.Jeff Gordon, Pittsboro, Ind.
24.Tim Green, San Jose, Calif.

No comments:

Post a Comment