Tuesday, August 30, 2022

1958 – Derr is 100-Lap Winner at St. Paul

Minnesota State Fair winner Ernie Derr receives congratulations from IMCA secretary John Libby.

St. Paul, Minn. (August 30, 1958) – Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa, slid, skidded, and splashed his way to victory in the 100-lap late model stock car race at the Minnesota State Fair.

The little Iowan pushed his way into the lead early in the race, when Bernie Hentges of Anoka, Minn., who had taken the lead at the start, crashed into Dick Pellow, Minneapolis, who spun directly into Hentges’ path.

A hard shower interrupted the race on lap 52 and after about an hour, the track was bladed and reconditioned.

Derr grabbed the lead on the restart and was never seriously challenged. He collected $600 for the victory and a large trophy.

Russell “Sonny” Gross of Quincy, Ill., took second-place money in the event, finishing about a straightaway behind Derr. Gross took home $500.

Johnny Beauchamp of Harlan, Iowa, the defending champion, wound up in third place, taking home $400.

Pre-race favorites Don White of Keokuk and Bob Burdick of Omaha finished out of the money. White, caught in heavy traffic most of the afternoon, was scored in 11th place, while Burdick was forced to make a long pit stop when the engine of his 1958 Ford overheated.

Bruce Nystrom of Oshkosh, Wis., blew a tire on lap 72 while running in second. Dropping him back to 13th place.

Derr, White and Burdick all paid $50 fines before the race to get back in the good graces of the International Motor Contest Association officials. The three drivers and car owners had been disqualified Thursday after a teardown revealed their cars were not in accordance with association specifications.

Results –

1. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
2. Sonny Gross, Quincy, Ill.
3. Johnny Beauchamp, Harlan, Iowa
4. Chub Liebe, Oelwein, Iowa
5. Jerry Kauffman, Minneapolis
6. Jerry Draper, Moline, Ill.
7. Murray Folsom, Mechanicsville, Iowa
8. Jim Rehbein, Forest Lake, Minn.
9. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
10.Bob Hilmer, Dysart, Iowa
11.Don White, Keokuk, Iowa
12.Dick Pellow, Minneapolis
13.Bruce Nystrom, Oshkosh, Wis.
14.Frank Richards, Marion, Iowa
15.John Kahoot, Black River Falls, Wis.
16.Dick Johnson, St. Paul
17.Bob Dugan, Waukegan, Ill.
18.Whitey Traeder, Milwaukee
19.Ramo Stott, Keokuk, Iowa
20.Floyd Matter, Hollandale

No comments:

Post a Comment