Thursday, August 4, 2022

1974 – Kirkpatrick Cops Ozark Empire Fair Victory

Larry Kirkpatrick drove the Jim Springer Chevy to victory at the Ozark Empire Fair. Starter Woody Brinkman (left) presents the checkers while IMCA official Larry Shipley (second from right) makes the trophy presentation.

Springfield, Mo. (August 4, 1974) – Larry Kirkpatrick of Wood River, Ill., topped a small field of IMCA sprint cars at the Ozark Empire Fair on Sunday afternoon.

Although only nine racers entered the grandstand show, the 20-lap feature wasn’t decided until the final lap with three cars battling for the lead.

All nine drivers were under the old track record in qualifying. Dean Shirley held the old mark of 24.46 seconds, set in 1970, the last time sprint cars competed on the Fairgrounds’ half-mile dirt oval.

Results –

Heat #1 – Larry Kirkpatrick
Heat #2 – Eddie Hanks
Heat #3 – Gene Gennetten
Match race – Bill Utz
Australian Pursuit – Stan Borofsky
Feature –
1. Larry Kirkpatrick
2. Ralph Parkinson Sr.
3. Bill Utz
4. Gene Kester
5. Eddie Hanks
6. Stan Borofsky
7. Roy Bryant
8. Gene Gennetten
9. Jerry Stone

No comments:

Post a Comment