Tuesday, August 30, 2022

1970 - Hutch Grabs State Fair 250

Des Moines, Iowa (August 30, 1970) – Ron Hutcherson of Keokuk, Iowa, the fourth fastest qualifier in his 1970 Torino, turned on the speed Sunday night to capture the 250-lap feature for IMCA new model stock cars at the Iowa State Fair.

Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, finished second in his 1970 Plymouth Roadrunner and Mel Morris of West Liberty, Iowa, rammed home his 1969 Charger into third place.

Lefty Robinson of Des Moines wheeled his ’69 Camaro to a fourth-place finish and Sandy Sandstrom of Kansas City rounded out the top five.

Gordy Blankenship of Keokuk, Iowa, drove his 1969 Plymouth Roadrunner to fast time, touring the half-mile dirt oval in 27.87 seconds to squeeze past Dean Montgomery of Milan, Ill., who was clocked at 27.91 seconds.

Results –

1. Ron Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa
2. Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
3. Mel Morris, West Liberty, Iowa
4. Lefty Robinson, Des Moines
5. Sandy Sandstrom, Kansas City
6. Leon Bowman, Wichita
7. Dean Montgomery, Milan, Ill.
8. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
9. Butch Hall, Russell, Minn.
10.Tom Beck, Waterloo, Iowa
11.Mike Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
12.Ralph Bowlen, Marshall, Mo.
13.Bill Stark, Des Moines
14.Chuck Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
15.Jerre Wichman, Kansas City

No comments:

Post a Comment