Friday, August 12, 2022

1973 – Utz Sets Record in Eldon Win

Bill Utz receives his trophy after winning the 25-lap IMCA sprint car race at Eldon. Flagman Larry Shipley holds the checkers. - Morris "Beetle" Bailey Photo

Eldon, Iowa (August 12, 1973) – Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo., set a new track record for 25-laps, as he cruised to victory in the IMCA sprint car feature at the Wapello County Fairgrounds’ half-mile.

Utz found the victory that had eluded him consecutive nights at Knoxville, Ill., the week before, in which he finished second on both outings.

Utz made the 25-lap trip in 10 minutes and 29 minutes, eclipsing Dick Sutcliffe’s record by a full 14 seconds. Utz, in his past three races, has made a spectacular climb in the IMCA point standings, moving from 19th to seventh in points.

Utz also won the STP trophy dash, which made it three in a row for him.

Both the 8 and 10-lap records fell as the track was smooth and tacky, and especially fast. Daryl Dawley of Sioux Falls, S.D., who owns the one-lap qualifying record at Eldon, of 22.92 seconds, set a new 8-lap record of 3 minutes and 10 seconds, bettering Ron Perkins record of last year by 13 seconds.

Cliff Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., bettered Earl Wagner’s 10-lap record by over 16 seconds, setting a new mark of 4 minutes and 3 seconds.

Earl Wagner of Pleasantville, Iowa, was the fastest man in qualifying, setting a time of 23.04 seconds. Dawley, Bob Fisher of Madrid, Iowa, and Bill Cohee of Topeka, Kan., were heat winners while Cliff Blundy won the consolation.

Results –

1. Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
2. Larry Kirkpatrick Wood River, Ill.
3. Gene Gennetten, Gladstone, Mo.
4. Cliff Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
5. Thad Dosher, Topeka, Kan.
6. Buzz Rose, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
7. Daryl Dawley, Sioux Falls, S.D.
8. Earl Wagner, Pleasantville, Iowa
9. Bill Cohee, Topeka, Kan.
10.Hank Smith, Mt. Ayr, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment