Saturday, October 2, 2021

1970 – Beckman in Tri-State Win

Bill Beckman smiles proudly after winning the annual Tri-State Championship at Davenport. 

Davenport, Iowa (October 2, 1970) – Bill Beckman, the rookie pilot from Lisbon, captured the Tri-State Championship late model stock car special at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds on Friday night.

Beckman collected the $700 top prize when he took the lead on lap 30 of the 75-lap season finale and roared to victory.

Ron Weedon of Pleasant Valley placed second with Ed Sanger of Waterloo coming home in third. Herb Shannon of Peoria, Ill., and Jim Gerber of Davenport rounded out the top five finishers.

Perry Beckler of Tiffin won the consolation race with Doug Crawford of Moline, Ill., finishing in the runner-up spot.

Stan Stover of Reinbeck won the semi-feature with Wayne Settles of Moline a close second.

Heat races were won by Beckler, Jim Strube of Peoria, Ill., and John Connolly of Delhi.

Results –

Time trials – Herb Shannon, Peoria, Ill. (17.02)
Heat #1 – Perry Beckler, Tiffin
Heat #2 – Jim Strube, Peoria, Ill.
Heat #3 – John Connolly, Delhi
Semi-main – Stan Stover, Reinbeck
Consolation – Perry Beckler
Feature –
1. Bill Beckman, Lisbon
2. Ron Weedon, Pleasant Valley
3. Ed Sanger, Waterloo
4. Herb Shannon
5. Jim Gerber, Davenport
6. Walt Carney, West Branch
7. Curt Hansen, Dike
8. Allen May, Peoria, Ill.
9. John Connolly
10.Glen Martin, Independence

No comments:

Post a Comment