Wednesday, June 22, 2022

1999 - Aukland Makes Last Lap Pass at Davenport

Rick Aukland (center) scored a last-lap victory in the Hav-A-Tampa Dirt Racing Series event at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds. He's joined by runner-up Scott Bloomquist (right) and third place finisher Steve Francis (left). - Chuck Gonzalez Photo

Davenport, Iowa (June 22, 1999) – Rick Aukland of Fargo, N.D., led only one lap during the 50-lap United Dirt Track Racing Association (UDTRA) Hav-A-Tampa Dirt Racing Series event at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds, but it was the last one, and it was worth $10,000.

Aukland made a last lap pass for the lead over Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., for the win. Bloomquist had led the first 49 circuits, but the three-time and defending Hav-A-Tampa champion had to settle for second.

With five laps to go in the race, Aukland was running third behind Bloomquist and Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky. Aukland passed Francis for second on lap 46 and then began his charge to the front, bringing the standing-room-only crowd to its feet for the last lap shootout.

When the white flag fell, Aukland looked to Bloomquist’s inside, but the leader took his car to the bottom groove for the first time in the race. Aukland was able to get another run on Bloomquist on the inside running down the backstretch, and this time got to the third turn first, moving under Bloomquist for the lead to the checkered flag.

Francis hung on for third with fourth going to Dan Schlieper of Pewaukee, Wis. And fifth going to Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark.

Gary Webb of Blue Grass, Iowa, took fast time honors of the 47 entrants, touring the half-mile dirt oval in 21.319 seconds. Heat winners were Aukland, Bloomquist, Schlieper, and Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark. Consolation winners were Kenny Merchant of Ruston, La., and Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn.

Results –

1. Rick Aukland, Fargo, N.D.
2. Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn.
3. Steve Francis, Ashland, Ky.
4. Dan Schlieper, Pewaukee, Wis.
5. Wendell Wallace, Batesville, Ark.
6. Ray Cook, Brasstown, N.C.
7. Brian Birkhofer, Muscatine, Iowa
8. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, Iowa
9. Bart Hartman, Zanesville, Ohio
10.Donnie Moran, Dresden, Ohio
11.Shannon Babb. Decatur, Ill.
12.Freddie Smith, Knoxville, Tenn.
13.Bob Pierce, Oakwood, Ill.
14.Rick Eckert, York, Penn.
15.Bill Frye, Greenbrier, Ark.
16.Skip Arp, Georgetown, Tenn.
17.Earl Pearson Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
18.Dale McDowell, Rossville, Ga.
19.Dennis Erb Jr., Carpentersville, Ill.
20.Tim Hitt, Weston, W.Va.
21.Billy Moyer Jr., Batesville, Ark.
22.Denny Eckrich, Coralville, Iowa
23.Marshall Green, Dalton, Ga.
24.Kenny Merchant, Ruston, La.

No comments:

Post a Comment