Wednesday, June 22, 2022

1958 – Sachs Wins at Terre Haute

Eddie Sachs poses with car owner Bill Cheesman in victory lane after winning at Terre Haute.

Terre Haute, Ind. (June 22, 1958) – Eddie Sachs chalked up his second straight auto racing victory Sunday, winning the 30-lap race at the Vigo County Fairgrounds.

The Center Valley, Penn., driver, who won the Langhorne 100-miler last week, won in the Cheesman Special and set a new track record of 12 minutes and 45 seconds in the process.

In a race free of accidents, Sachs took the lead from Jim McWithey of Anderson, Ind., on the 20th lap. McWithey was the fast qualifier with a record-breaking 74.096 miles per hour around the half-mile dirt oval.

Results –

1. Eddie Sachs, Center Valley, Penn.
2. Tommy Hinnershitz, Oley, Penn.
3. Jim McWithey, Anderson, Ind.
4. Elmer George, Indianapolis
5. A.J. Foyt, Houston, Tex.
6. Ed Elisian, Oakland, Calif.
7. Len Sutton, Portland, Ore.
8. Bob Wente, St. Louis, Mo.
9. Ralph Liguori, Tampa, Fla.
10.Bud Randall, Mitchell, Ind.

No comments:

Post a Comment