Tuesday, June 21, 2022

1970 – Fryar Upsets Derr at Shreveport

Freddy Fryar

Shreveport, La. (June 21, 1970) – “I finally found the right combination of tires to be adaptable to the new asphalt,” commented Freddy Fryar.

The Baton Rouge racing ace surprised a huge throng of spectators by conquering 10-time IMCA national stock car champion Ernie Derr in the 50-lap feature at State Fair Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

“I’ve been trying to beat Derr for about six different races. It sure feels good to finally beat him.”

The time for the feature set a new national IMCA standard of 18 minutes and 43.13 seconds. Fryar also holds the 10-lap record.

Fryar said he wasn’t surprised that Derr didn’t deliver any pressure in Sunday’s feature. Derr had been experiencing tire trouble of his own throughout the 50-lapper.

The feature concluded the three phases of the IMCA Captain Shreve Trophy Series. Bud Carson, the owner and promoter of Mar-Car, Inc., of Oklahoma City presented the feature trophy to Fryar. However, on total points, Derr was the Shreve champion. Derr finished with 1,125 points to Fryar’s 1,035.

Fryar grabbed the feature lead on lap 4 with Derr right on his tailpipe. At times, the two drivers were side-by-side util Fryar stepped on the accelerator and pulled away to insure the verdict.

Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was third and Fred Horn of Marion, Iowa, took fourth.

Fryar posted fast time in qualifying with a time of 22.19 seconds followed by Derr’s 22.23 seconds.

Derr won the first 12-lap heat race in 4 minutes and 48.55 seconds. Fryar won the second heat in 4 minutes and 35.82 seconds. Joe Holley of Port Vincent was the third heat winner in 4 minutes and 35.6 seconds. Janey won the 10-lap trophy dash in 3 minutes and 45.66 seconds.

After the feature, Derr appeared to be concerned over his troubles. He commented that he “ran into rubber difficulty” and his tires were not acting as they should.

Results –

1. Freddy Fryar, Baton Rouge
2. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
4. Fred Horn, Marion, Iowa
5. Ray Putnam, Baton Rouge
6. Joe Holley, Port Vincent
7. Royce Whitlock, West Monroe
8. Tony Bettenhausen Jr., Houston, Tex.
9. Jerry Johns, Minden
10.Wayne McGee, Bastrop
11.Ray Ingalls, Longview
12.Sandy Sandstrom, Kansas City
13.Vern Covert, Topeka, Kan.
14.Ronnie Chumley, Houston, Tex.
15.Gene Newsome, West Monroe

No comments:

Post a Comment