Sunday, June 5, 2022

1971 – Columbus Junction Honors to Perdock

Columbus Junction, Iowa (June 5, 1971) – Ron Perdock of Washington, Iowa, took the lead from Mark Mosier, also of Washington, on the 14th lap of the 25-lap feature here Saturday night and hung on to win his first feature event of the season in the Mississippi Valley Speed Club races.

Perdock would also win the 5-lap trophy dash.

Pokey West of West Chester, Iowa, again turned in the fastest time of the evening on the track, with a time of 27.71 seconds. Jim Gerber had second fastest time of 28.07 seconds. Allen Jones of Ainsworth, Iowa, was third fastest with a time of 28.22 seconds.

Mel Morris of West Liberty, Iowa, picked up the checkered flag in the first heat while John Moss of Iowa City, Iowa, grabbed the win in the second heat. Mosier score the victory in the third heat which saw Mark Colberg of Muscatine, Iowa and Walt Carney of West Branch bring out the red flag after the pair tangled on the first lap. Colberg was taken to a Muscatine hospital for a check-up following the accident.

Ron Jackson of Burlington, Iowa, won the fourth heat while Stan Crooks of Muscatine picked up the checkered in the 15-lap semi-main event.

Results –

Fast time – Pokey West, West Chester, Iowa (27.71_
Trophy dash – Ron Perdock, Washington, Iowa
First heat – Mel Morris, West Liberty, Iowa
Second heat, John Moss, Iowa City, Iowa
Third heat – Mark Mosier, Washington, Iowa
Fourth heat – Ron Jackson, Burlington, Iowa
Semi-main – Stan Crooks, Muscatine, Iowa
Feature –
1. Ron Perdock
2. Mark Mosier
3. John Moss
4. Ron Hemsted, Lone Tree, Iowa
5. Jim Gerber, Long Grove, Iowa
6. Pokey West
7. Larry Jenkins, Wilton Junction, Iowa
8. Bill Newman, Burlington, Iowa
9. Byron Buchele, Muscatine, Iowa
10.Bob Helm, Andalusia, Ill.
11.Ron Prymek, Iowa City, Iowa
12.Perry Beckler, Tiffin, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment