Sunday, June 19, 2022

1965 – Beauchamp in Vinton victory

Johnny Beauchamp

Vinton, Iowa (June 19, 1965) – Some 2,475 fans jammed into the Benton County Fairgrounds on Saturday night to watch Johnny Beauchamp of Atlantic, Iowa, win the second heat and the 20-lap modified feature.

The races were marred by a series of accidents, including a rollover that sent which sent Gordon Young of Vinton the hospital with a back injury.

John Connolly of Delhi and Lee Kunzman of Guttenberg were also heat winners in the modified division. The “A” semi was won by Les Johnson of Vinton and the “B” semi winner was Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids.

Bill Stockman of Oxford won the novice feature. Bill Bledhorn of Cedar Rapids and Larry Bell of Central City were heat winners.

Keith Knaack, the Mid-Continent Racing Association track manager, announced that an organization meeting would be set for Tuesday for a new “Cadet” class.

Results –

Novice –

Heat #1 – Bill Bledhorn, Cedar Rapids
Heat #2 – Larry Bell, Central City
Feature –
1. Bill Stockman, Oxford
2. Bill Bledhorn
3. Harold Emerson, Cedar Rapids
4. Roger Lacoursiere, Waterloo
5. Glen Dale Geiger, Vinton

Modified –

Heat #1 – Johnny Beauchamp, Atlantic
Heat #2 – John Connolly, Delhi
Heat #3 – Lee Kunzman, Guttenberg
A Semi – Les Johnson, Vinton
B Semi – Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
Feature –
1. Johnny Beauchamp
2. Red Droste, Waterloo
3. Mert Williams, Rochester, Minn.
4. John Connolly
5. Darrell Dake
6. Cal Swanson, Reinbeck
7. Jim Schmuecker, Vinton

No comments:

Post a Comment