Friday, June 10, 2022

1958 – Knaack Tops Vinton Races


Keith Knaack

Vinton, Iowa (June 10, 1958) – Keith Knaack of Vinton won the 20-lap main event in the Cedar Valley Stock Car Association’s program at the Benton County Fairgrounds on Sunday afternoon.

Only six of the starting 19 cars finished the contest, which saw a leap-frog wreck involving Vern Weber of Waterloo and Dick Lyons of Van Horne.

Lytell Kyler of Brandon was fast qualifier with a time of 21.5 seconds on the quarter mile. Don Forrester of Dysart won the first heat and Shorty Hayward of Independence was the second heat winner. The third heat was copped by Les Johnson of Vinton and semi-main honors went to Don Hall of Urbana. Knaack also picked up another win in the novelty race.

A near capacity crowd was on hand to witness the six-event program.

No comments:

Post a Comment