Monday, September 14, 2020

1974 – Dolan wins Eldon finale, title

Season and point champion Roger Dolan is joined in victory lane by flagman Cy Bohr (far left), car owner Harold Norton (second from left) and promoter Ron Stockstill (far right). Karen Fenn (center) presents Dolan with the trophy. – Ken Starkweather Photo

Eldon, Iowa (September 14, 1974) - Lisbon’s Roger Dolan and Selma’s Don Benge took season championship races at Eldon Raceway Saturday night.

Dolan capped the season in his customary fashion, winning the second heat, Australian pursuit and his seventh straight feature. The victory also left the Lisbon driver on top in the final super stock point standings.

Dolan led the 17-car field from start to finish in the 20-lap super stock championship feature. Larry Jenkins of Wilton finished second and Steve Fraise of Montrose third.

Sportsman winner Don Benge led from the fifth lap to the finish of the 12-lap event after taking the lead from Rick Scott of Eldon following a red flag and restart. Scott wound up third and Gary Thomas of Washington second.

Rod Prisner of Blandinsville, Ill., was injured in the second super stock heat when his car hit a concrete wall in front of the grandstand. Prisner was taken to Ottumwa Hospital with chest and neck pains but released after a short time.

Jenkins held off Fraise in a tight first heat while Bob Helm of Andalusia, Ill., nipped Ottumwa Bob McCall in the third heat. Jon Metcalf of Eldon won the 8-lap semi-main event.

Bill Metcalf of Selma and Larry Winn of Kirksville, Mo., won the sportsman heat races.

A packed grandstand and a field of 40 cars saw the yearend finale, culminating a season in which 80 super stock and 62 sportsman outfits nosed through the Wapello County Fairgrounds’ gates.

Results –

Super Stock -

Heat #1 – Larry Jenkins, Wilton
Heat #2 – Roger Dolan, Lisbon
Heat #3 - Bob Helm, Andalusia, Ill
Australian pursuit – Roger Dolan
Semi-main – Jon Metcalf, Eldon
Feature –
1. Roger Dolan
2. Larry Jenkins
3. Steve Fraise, Montrose
4. Bob McCall, Ottumwa
5. Bob Helm
6. Johnny Babb, Ottumwa
7. Larry Pipes, Kirksville, Mo.
8. Jerry Pilcher, Ottumwa
9. Ken Boyse, Welman
10. Jon Metcalf

Sportsman -

Heat #1 – Larry Winn, Kirksville, Mo.
Heat #2 – Bill Metcalf, Selma
Feature –
1. Don Benge, Selma
2. Gary Thomas, Washington
3. Rick Scott, Eldon
4. Truman McDowell, Fort Madison
5. Dan Beaver, Tracy
6. Jerry Sprouse, Eldon
7. Leroy Stutzman, Lockridge
8. Gaylord Davis, Eldon

No comments:

Post a Comment