Saturday, September 26, 2020

1964 – Foyt Cops Hoosier 100

A.J. Foyt accepts his trophy and accolades after winning his fourth career Hoosier Hundred.

Indianapolis, Ind. (September 26, 1964) - A.J. Foyt became racing's winningest driver Saturday when he crossed the finish line seconds ahead of defending champion Rodger Ward in the rich Hoosier Hundred.

The triumph, cheered by 25,000 fans, was Foyt's 26th championship victory and his ninth this year alone. The Houston, Tex., speedster, who started from the pole position, collected $18,000 of a record $55,500 purse. Ward, like Foyt a two-time winner of the Indianapolis 500 mile race, finished the 100-mile grind over the bumpy Indiana State Fairgrounds dirt track 7.7 seconds behind Foyt and fell second to Foyt in championship wins.

Foyt's average speed was 89.056 miles an hour. The race was slowed several times by spins, but no drivers were hurt.

Don Branson of Champaign, Ill., finished third. Jud Larson of Austin, Tex., was fourth, Bud Tinglestad of Dayton, Ohio, fifth, and Arnie Knepper of Belleville, Ill., sixth.

Foyt won the pole position with a qualifying speed of 102.887 miles per hour, although he was among the late qualifiers and had to make the test on a track already riddled with ruts.

Bobby Marshman of Pottstown, Penn., who was the first to qualify, started from the outside front row position on a test clocked at 102.244 miles per hour.

Marshman bolted into the lead on the first turn and kept it until Foyt overtook him on the sixth lap to stay in front for good. The two dueled until Marshman was forced out of the race with mechanical troubles on the 46th lap.

Results –

1. A.J. Foyt
2. Rodger Ward
3. Don Branson
4. Jud Larson
5. Bud Tingelstad
6. Arnie Knepper
7. Ronnie Duman
8. Len Sutton
9. Lloyd Ruby
10.Mario Andretti
11.Norm Hall
12.Joe Leonard
13.Bob Harkey
14.Gordon Johncoc
15.Bobby Unser
16.Bobby Marshman
17.Parnelli Jones
18.Johnny Rutherford
19.Dee Jones
20.Ralph Liguori
21.Jim McElreath
22.Hal Rettberg

No comments:

Post a Comment