Tuesday, May 3, 2022

1969 – Fairgrounds’ Opener to Horn

Fred Horn is congratulated by co-promoters Homer Melton (left) and Johnny Beauchamp after his season opening win in Des Moines.

Des Moines, Iowa (May 3, 1969) – Fred Horn of Mario guided his 1967 Plymouth to victory in the 25-lap late model stock car event in the season opener at the Iowa State Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

Don Hoffman of Des Moines won the sportsman feature before a crowd estimated at 6,500.

Horn trailed John Connolly of Delhi by less than a car length the first 13 circuits, then grabbed the lead coming out of turn three. He never relinquished the top spot for the remaining laps.

Connolly settled for runner-up honors and Bill McDonough of Cedar Rapids captured the last podium spot.

The sportsman feature was a battle for survival as 15 cars started but only three finished the race.

There was a spectacular crash in the sportsman semi-main involving four cars. Ed Perryman of Des Moines careened into Lynn Komrie’s car which was leading.

Perryman’s car skidded out of control, rolled twice, and caught on fire. He scrambled from the burning wreckage unscathed.

Irving Phillips of Oskaloosa won the event and Dean Montgomery of Milan, Ill., started last and won the 15-lap late model semi-main.

Results –

Sportsman –

Time trials – Don Christenson, Harlan (28.80)
Heat #1 – Don Christenson
Heat #2 – Irvin Phillips, Oskaloosa
Semi-main – Irvin Phillips
Feature –
1. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
2. Roy Dishman, Des Moines
3. Larry Embrey, Panora
4. John May, Des Moines
5. Del Enos, Des Moines

Late Model –

Time trials – Fred Horn, Marion (26.48)
Heat #1 – Bill Moyer, Des Moines
Heat #2 – John Connolly, Delhi
Semi-main – Dean Montgomery, Milan, Ill.
Feature –
1. Fred Horn
2. John Connolly
3. Bill McDonough, Cedar Rapids
4. Bill Moyer
5. Dean Montgomery
6. Dick Oldham, Des Moines
7. Lem Blankenship, Keokuk
8. Bob Hilmer, Dysart
9. Joe Alsin, Ankeny
10.Tom Hughes, Monticello

No comments:

Post a Comment