Friday, June 26, 2020

1982 – Springfield Sprint Flag Shirley’s First in USAC

Dean Shirley

Springfield Ill. (June 26, 1982) – Hometown favorite Dean Shirley, a veteran of the outlaw sprint and midget circuits, posted his first career United States Auto Club feature victory Saturday night, with a wire-to-wire win in the sprint car headliner at the Springfield Speedway.

Shirley’s most serious threat evaporated on the ninth circuit of the 30-lap contest, when defending division titlist Sheldon Kinser, who was running second on the inside and gaining on the leader, jumped the cushion and hit the fence in the fourth turn.

The incident obviously disturbed the handling qualities of Kinser’s Chevy and dropped him back to a seventh-place finish.

Shirley, who started on the pole, stayed in the low groove all the way and won with relative ease over runner-up Larry Rice.

Rich Vogler came up with a great outside-groove drive from his 17th starting position to finish third despite nudging the fence between turns three and four midway through the race.

Another local favorite, Jim Moughan Jr., finished fourth ahead of Danny Milburn.

Dick Vant escaped injury when he rolled his Chevy in the first turn on the opening lap of the second heat.

Feature finish –

1. Dean Shirley
2. Larry Rice
3. Rich Vogler
4. Jim Moughan Jr.
5. Danny Milburn
6. Eric Trousdale
7. Sheldon Kinser
8. Jim Horn
9. Ed Angle
10.Mark Alderson
11.Johnny Coogan
12.Joe Saldana
13.Roger Rager
14.Morris Coffman
15.Al Thomas
16.Larry Martin
17.Leon Gentry
18.Red Bledsoe
19.Dave Peperak
20.Steve Long

No comments:

Post a Comment