Thursday, May 20, 2021

1972 – Iowa Driver Wins Fair City 50

Irv Janey

Huron, S.D. (May 20, 1972) – Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, who is in his fifth year of racing on the International Motor Contest Association circuit, gained the lead within the first two laps of the Fair City 50 on Saturday night at the State Fairgrounds Speedway and captured first-place honors in the 50-lap feature race.

Ronnie Muth, a local racer from Huron, was in the lead position during the first laps of the race, but an early mechanical problem forced him to slow and drop to the middle of the 12-car pack.

Janey and his 1972 Plymouth finished ahead of Mike Haugen of Sioux Falls, S.D., who drove a 1968 Plymouth. Thurman Lovejoy of Kansas City, Mo., finished third ahead of Ronnie Muth and Butch Hall of Russell, Minn., rounded out the top five.

Results –

STP trophy dash – Ronnie Muth, Huron, S.D.
Slow heat – Don Wagner, Miller, S.D.
Fast heat - Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Consolation – Thurman Lovejoy, Kansas City, Mo.
Feature –
1. Irv Janey
2. Mike Haugen, Sioux Falls, S.D.
3. Thurman Lovejoy
4. Ronnie Muth, Huron, S.D.
5. Butch Hall, Russell, Minn.
6. Don Bull, Huron, S.D.
7. Vern Covert, Topeka, Kan.
8. Roger Brown, Waverly, Iowa
9. Vern Mondry, Lake Elmo, Minn.
10.Carl Vander Wal, Ames, Iowa
11.Doug Wagner, Miller, S.D.
12.Clayton Theobold, Pierre, S.D.

No comments:

Post a Comment