Wednesday, May 19, 2021

1972 – Columbus Junction Main to Prymek

Columbus Junction, Iowa (May 19, 1972) – The weatherman cooperated, and it turned out to be a beautiful night for Mississippi Valley Speed Club racing at the Louisa County Fairgrounds.

The 25-lap late model feature was red flagged multiple times before the checkered flag fell for Ron Prymek of Iowa City. Prymek started on the front row and led from start to finish.

On lap 14 Jerry Reinhart of Davenport slid off of turn one and four laps later Bill Hopp of Muscatine went over the embankment in the same turn. The red flag came out again on lap 21 when Doug Crawford of Genesco, Ill., went over the embankment in turn three. He was taken to the hospital in Muscatine and held for observation.

Crawford would win the 5-lap trophy dash, his first win of the season. Ray Guss of Milan, Ill., Perry Beckler of Tiffin, Larry Jenkins of Wilton, and Jim Gerber of Long Grove were heat winners and Gail Brenner of Wilton won the semi-main.

A field of 27 cars timed in with Bill Hopp setting the fastest time of 26.27 seconds. Ron Hemsted of Lone Tree was second quickest with a time of 26.85 seconds around the half-mile oval.

Results –

Time trials – Bill Hopp, Muscatine (26.27)
Trophy dash – Doug Crawford, Genesco, Ill.
Heat #1 – Ray Guss, Milan, Ill.
Heat #2 – Perry Beckler, Tiffin
Heat #3 – Larry Jenkins, Wilton
Heat #4 – Jim Gerber, Long Grove
Semi-main – Gail Brenner, Wilton
Feature –
1. Ron Prymek, Iowa City
2. Shorty Bennett, Moline, Ill.
3. Larry Jenkins
4. Tom Stewart, Washington
5. Ed Mellecker, Iowa City
6. Del Abney, Muscatine
7. Dale Welsh, Cedar Rapids
8. Gail Brenner
9. Harold Picha, Freeport, Ill.
10.Walt Carney, West Branch

No comments:

Post a Comment