Tuesday, July 26, 2022

1978 – Carson win Forester sprints

Shane Carson (left) won the Elder-Forester Invitational at the Iowa State Fairgrounds. Carson is joined by runner-up Jimmy Boyd (right) and third place finisher Eddie Leavitt (center), - Morris "Beetle" Bailey Photo

Des Moines, Iowa (July 26, 1978) – Shane Carson of Oklahoma City took advantage of a good thing and won the Elder – Forester Invitational for sprint cars at the Iowa State Fairgrounds on Wednesday evening.

Doug Wolfgang was in process of celebrating his birthday, when his engine let go just four laps from victory lane.

Jimmy Boyd of Dixon, Calif., took over but Carson went high on the cushion and took command on the 23rd lap.

Carson pocketed $1,000 for his victory in the Bob Trostle sprinter.

Sonny Smyser of Lancaster, Mo., led the first three laps of the feature race before relinquishing the lead to Wolfgang.

Eddie Leavitt of Kearney, Mo., finished third with Randy Smith of Norwalk, Iowa, fourth and Mike Brooks of Des Moines rounding out the top-five.

Cheryl Burgard of East Berlin, Penn., one of the few women drivers too compete in the state of Iowa, managed a seventh-place finish in the B-main.

Boyd started out the evening with a victory in the first 8-lap heat, with Ralph Blackett of Des Moines winning the second. Wolfgang scored the victory in the third heat and Leland McSpadden of Tucson, Ariz., was the fourth heat winner.

Veteran Bill Utz of Sedalia, Mo., won the B-main with Bobby Marshall of Dallas, Tex., on his heels.

The program was sanctioned by the National Speedways Contest Association.

Results –

1. Shane Carson
2. Jimmy Boyd
3. Eddie Leavitt
4. Randy Smith
5. Mike Brooks
6. Mike Pinckney
7. Ralph Blackett
8. Jack McCorkell
9. Bill Utz
10.Junior Gutknecht
11.Butch Bahr
12.Jerry Blundy
13.Bill Robison
14.Cliff Woodard
15.Bill Hudson

No comments:

Post a Comment