Tuesday, September 10, 2019

1978 – Bobby Unser Wins Governor’s Cup

Bobby Unser takes the checkers at the Milwaukee Mile.

West Allis, Wis. (September 10, 1978) – Bobby Unser, the hard-charging driver from Albuquerque, N.M., led much of the way Sunday and easily won the Governor’s Cup 250-mile late model stock car race as the event ended under the yellow flag at Wisconsin State Fair Park.

Unser, who hadn’t won a stock car race since 1974, was leading Dave Watson of Milton, Wis., by 13.5 seconds when a yellow flag waved seven laps from the finish of the race.

The victory earned Unser $7,885 – the winner’s share of a record $41,400 purse.

A.J. Foyt of Houston, Tex., who leads the United States Auto Club point standings, finished third.

Unser, driving a 1978 Camaro, led 191 of 250 laps, battling Foyt, who also drove a 1978 Camaro, in the early stages before Foyt was forced to make a series of pit stops because of tire issues. After that, Watson, driving a 1977 Buick Skylark, challenged Unser through the middle stages of the race but could not take command.

Sal Tovella of Addison, Ill., was fourth, two laps back, in a 1977 Plymouth Volare, followed by Jim Sauter of Necedah, Wis., piloting a 1977 Dodge Aspen.

Unser said the race was especially satisfying for him because it had been so long since he’d been in the winner’s circle.

“It was a very timely victory,” Unser said. “It did me a lot of good. I’ve had a hard time winning races lately, yet I know I’m a good race driver.”

Results –

1. Bobby Unser
2. Dave Watson
3. A.J. Foyt
4. Sal Tovella
5. Jim Sauter
6. Bob Brevak
7. Bay Darnell
8. Gary Bowsher
9. Bob Schacht
10. Ramo Stott
11. Joe Ruttman
12. Terry Ryan
13. Gordon Blankenship
14. Tom Schley
15. Rich Clement
16. Jack Bowsher
17. Rick O’Brien
18. Eddie Wachs
19. Dale Koehler
20. Russ Peterson
21. Ken Miller
22. Charlie Glotzbach
23. Tom Meinberg
24. Terry Pearson

No comments:

Post a Comment