Friday, September 6, 2019

1965 – Brown Grabs IMCA Feature Win

 Don Brown

Lincoln, Neb. (September 6, 1965) – Don Brown, a lean Californian who is making Lincoln his summer residence, started in first place Monday afternoon and stayed there to win the tightly contested 30-lap International Motor Contest Association feature race before 10,000 spectators at the Nebraska State Fair.

Brown spoiled Harold Leep's bid for a sweep of the sprint car racing weekend. But, for the Wichita, Kan. Bowling proprietor, it was not all sour grapes as he finished a close second to the hard-driving Brown.

It was like a hometown boy had won when Brown slid his racer to halt in front of the grandstand to accept the victory trophy and the plaudits of the racing spectators.

Gordon Woolley of Waco, Tex. jarred the Hector Honore sprinter loose for the first time at the State Fair and won the first heat. Bob Coulter, who is also living this summer in Lincoln with Brown, did a soft roll on the first lap of the first heat race. He wasn't seriously hurt, but his car was hurried off to a local speedway parts house and repaired in time for his return and eleventh spot finish in the feature event. Jerry Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., wiped out a front end in the same mishap and was sidelined from further competition.

Leep was his old self in the second heat race, winning the 8-lap dash over local favorite Lloyd Beckman in his familiar roadster. Tom Bigelow, who was third in the feature event, was the third heat winner getting around Tom Custer of Rock Island, Ill., on the seventh lap of the 8-lapper.

Jim Moughan took the consolation race chased to the checkered flag by the veteran Ray Duckworth of Anderson, Ind. Moughan, who hails from Springfield, Ill., was fourth in the feature event.

The tacky track cut down some of the faster times, but the racing was swift and exciting on every turn.

Results –

Heat #1 – Gordon Woolley, Waco, Tex.
Heat #2 – Harold Leep, Wichita, Kan.
Heat #3 – Tom Bigelow, Whitewater, Wis.
Consolation – Jim Moughan, Springfield, Ill.
Feature –

1. Don Brown, San Fernando, Calif.
2. Harold Leep
3. Tom Bigelow
4. Jim Moughan
5. Gordon Woolley
6. Bill Puterbaugh, Roxana, Ill.
7. Jay Woodside, Wichita, Kan.
8. Norm Baker, Webster City, Iowa
9. Lloyd Beckman, Lincoln, Neb.
10.Bill Eubank, Danville, Ind.
11.Bob Coulter, Long Beach, Calif.
12.Ray Duckworth, Anderson, Ind.

No comments:

Post a Comment