Saturday, September 14, 2019

1963 – Ward Wins Hoosier Hundred

Rodger Ward show perfect form en route to winning the 1963 Hoosier Hundred. - Walt Imlay Photo

Indianapolis, Ind. (September 14, 1963) - Rodger Ward of Indianapolis set a blistering pace from start to finish to win the 11th annual Hoosier Hundred in record time at the Indiana State Fairgrounds Saturday.

Leading from the pole position, which he won at a record clip of 103.986 miles per hour, the two-time Indianapolis “500” champion raced the distance in 1 hour and 4 minutes, for an average speed of 93.545 mph.

Don Branson, Champaign, Ill., finished second, trailing Ward across the finish by 16 seconds. A.J. Foyt of Houston, Tex., third followed by Johnny Rutherford of Fort Worth, Tex., and Jim McElreath of Arlington, Tex.

Seventeen of the 18 starters finished the race. The missing was Parnelli Jones of Torrance, Calif., who spun on the very first lap, returned to the race but was out for good a few laps later with mechanical issues.

Ward, who grabbed his 23rd major victory in the last 10 years, pocketed $16,725 for the winner’s share of the purse worth $51,850. Both were records for the Indiana event.

It was also Ward’s third triumph of the year, having won 100-mile events at Milwaukee and Springfield, Ill.

Results –

1. Rodger Ward, Indianapolis
2. Don Branson, Champaign, Ill.
3. A.J. Foyt, Houston, Tex.
4. Johnny Rutherford, Fort Worth, Tex.
5. Jim McElreath, Arlington, Tex.
6. Roger McCluskey, Tucson, Ariz.
7. Johnny White, Warren, Mich.
8. Lloyd Ruby, Houston, Tex.
9. Ronnie Duman, Dearborn, Mich.
10.Jim Hurtubise, North Tonawanda, N.Y.

No comments:

Post a Comment