Friday, September 20, 2019

1959 - Dake Takes Hutchinson Stock Race

Darrell Dake 

Hutchinson, Kan. (September 20, 1959) - Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, drove a 1957 Chevrolet to top honors and the big cut of prize money in the stock car races presented before a packed grandstand of 13,000 spectators at the Kansas Stale Fairgrounds, Sunday afternoon.

Dake out-raced Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa, to the finish line in the 25-lap feature. He won the first 10-lap heat race and was second in a special 5-lap dash.

Despite a rough track and keen competition, there were no crashes other than the normal number of fender bending bumps.

Bob Patrin, St. Paul, Minn., had both sides of his car crumpled a bit when he became the “filling” in a three-car sandwich on the first curve of the second heat race. On two occasions Gerry Harrison, son of “Wild Bill” of Topeka, Kan., came dangerously close to the fence while sliding wide. But most of the thrills came in the competition itself.

The novelty race provided a comic interlude. These drivers raced for one lap, the drivers got out, ran around their cars, got back in and raced for another lap. After the second lap, they got out, ate a piece of pie, got back in and raced for another lap. After the third lap, they got out, drank a cup of soda pop, got back in to their cars, and raced for another lap. The one who completed the fourth lap first was the winner. Newt Bartholomew, Carlisle, Iowa, was the winner on the four-lap sprint. Ralph Wilhelm, Milwaukee, was second and Roland Wilson, Bedford, Iowa, third.

Results –

1. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Dick Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa
4. Mert Williams, Waterloo, Iowa
5. Sonny Morgan, Beaumont, Tex.
6. Frankie Lies, Wichita, Kan.
7. Ramo Stott, Keokuk, Iowa
8. Leonard Funk, Otis, Kan.
9. Wayne Lee, Burlington, Iowa
10. Newt Bartholomew, Carlisle, Iowa
11. Clyde Ellis, Kansas City
12. Ralph Wilhelm, Milwaukee

No comments:

Post a Comment