Thursday, September 12, 2019

1975 – Parkinson Sr. tops Spencer IMCA Sprints

Ralph Parkinson Sr. accepts congratulations and the trophy from IMCA flagman Larry Shipley while track steward Hal Meyer presents the checkers. - Beetle Bailey Photo

Spencer, Iowa (September 12, 1975) – The International Motor Contest Association’s point race for the grand championship sprint cars was tightened, two new records were set, and Ralph Parkinson Sr., of Kansas City, won the 30-lap feature here at the Clay County Fair on Friday afternoon.

The racing activities got underway with Bill Utz of Sedalia, Mo., the defending IMCA sprint car national champion, establishing fast time in qualifying. He made the one-lap circuit with a time of 24.04 seconds around the half-mile dirt oval. Parkinson Sr. had sixth quickest time, which, with the inverted top six start, gave him the pole position for the feature event.

Parkinson would grab the lead at the wave of the green flag and never look back, leading all 30 laps in a dominating performance.

The racing action took place for second and third positions which were held by Jan Opperman of Noxon, Mont., and Utz. The two veterans raced nose to tail for almost the entire race with Opperman frustrating the champion at every turn.

Dick Forbrook of Morgan, Minn., who was running behind Utz, challenged the duo only once and settled for fourth place.

Bob Thoman of Higginsville, Mo., Opperman and Dick Morris of Sioux City, Iowa, were heat winners and Gene Kester of Odessa, Mo., grabbed the consolation. Bill Mellenberndt of Sioux Falls, S.D., won the STP trophy dash.

Results –

1. Ralph Parkinson Sr., Kansas City
2. Jan Opperman, Noxon, Mont.
3. Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
4. Dick Forbrook, Morgan, Minn.
5. Bill Mellenberndt, Sioux Falls, S.D.
6. Sonny Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.
7. Daryl Dawley, Sioux Falls, S.D.
8. Jim Edgington, Fairmont, Minn.
9. Gene Kester, Odessa, Mo.
10. Dave Engebretson, Sioux Falls, S.D.

No comments:

Post a Comment