Monday, September 2, 2019

1957 – Record Crowd Sees Larson Win

Jud Larson is surrounded by well-wishers after winning the Du Quoin 100-miler. 

Du Quoin, Ill. (September 2, 1957) – Jud Larson of Kansa City, winner of the annual Labor Day 100-miler at the Du Quoin State Fair, set no speed record – but he received the biggest ovation in the fair’s 34-year history.

Most of the more than 15,000 spectators who saw the Ted Horn Memorial big car race from the grandstand, streamed on onto the track at the finish. The fans kept the track gates jammed for more than 20 minutes.

The biggest race crowd ever noted at Du Quoin overflowed into the new bleacher stands put up this past summer while an additional 2,000 saw the race from a standing position alongside the track fence.

Larson’s time for the unexciting 100-mile grind was just one and half seconds short of the 66-minute mark.

Johnny Thomson of Boyertown, Penn., would finish second while Rodger Ward of Indianapolis finished third after leading the first 53 lap of the contest.

Grinning through a coating of mud, with his face scratched from dust, Larson accepted his trophy from A.H. Hulman, president of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The victory was worth $4,550 to Larson.

Results –

1. Jud Larson
2. Johnny Thomson
3. Rodger Ward
4. Elmer George
5. Bob Veith
6. Johnny Boyd
7. Len Sutton
8. Pat O'Connor
9. Don Branson
10. Ed Elisian
11. Jack Turner
12. Billy Garrett
13. Don Edmunds
14. Jimmy Reece
15. Tony Bettenhausen
16. George Amick
17. Ralph Liguori
18. Jimmy Bryan

No comments:

Post a Comment