Saturday, October 8, 2022

1972 – Ruttman Winner of Bettenhausen 100

Joe Ruttman is joined by starter Art Kelly (left), assistant starter Bob Adams, and the trophy girl after winning the Tony Bettenhausen Memorial 100. 

Schererville, Ind. (October 8, 1972) – Joe Ruttman eased home with a near-flat right front tire to win the 11th annual Tony Bettenhausen Memorial 100 late model stock car classic.

Ruttman, of Dearborn, Mich., had his Chevelle six-car-lengths ahead of second-place Rich Davis of Waukegan, Ill, who was driving a Ford Torino.

Ruttman, whose older brother Troy won the inaugural running of the event 10 years after winning the 1952 Indianapolis 500, led for 70 of thee 100 laps on the quarter-mile asphalt track on Sunday afternoon. Ruttman was the third fastest qualifier.

Results –

1. Joe Ruttman, Dearborn, Mich.
2. Rich Davis, Waukegan, Ill.
3. Randy Sweet, Grand Rapids, Mich.
4. Ray Freeman, Crete, Ill.
5. Jerry Kemperman, Blue Island, Ill.
6. Jerry Peterson, Marseilles, Ill.
7. Rick Kleich, Chicago
8. Bob Meyers, Schaumburg, Ill.
9. Tom Jones, Northbrook, Ill.
10.Bill McEnery, Evergreen Park, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment