Sunday, October 9, 2022

1971 - Final Feature to Morris, Hemsted is MVSC Champ

Ron Hemsted in victory lane after winning the MVSC season championship at Columbus Junction. - Dick Kleindolph Photo

Columbus Junction, Iowa (October 9, 1971) – Mel Morris of Atalissa took the lead from John Moss of Iowa City on lap 22 of the 50-lap feature and held it from there to win the season championship at the Louisa County Fairgrounds on Saturday to close out the Mississippi Valley Speed Club season.

Ron Hemsted of Lone Tree, the point leader for most of the season, finished sixth in the feature and wound up with 212 points, good for first place in the MVSC point standings for 1971. Moss, with his third-place finish in the feature, finished second in the point standings with 183. Pokey West of Westchester, who finished second in the feature, wound up third in the point standings with 181.

Bryan Buchele of Muscatine won the 5-lap trophy dash. Heat wins went to Ray Guss of Milan, Ill., Morris, and Larry Jenkins of Wilton Junction. Bud Darting of Wilton Junction won the fourth heat while Perry Beckler of Tiffin won the semi-main.

Results – 

Trophy dash – Bryan Buchele, Muscatine
Heat #1 – Ray Guss, Milan, Ill.
Heat #2 – Mel Morris, Atalissa
Heat #3 – Larry Jenkins, Wilton Junction
Heat #4 – Bud Darting, Wilton Junction
Semi-main – Perry Beckler, Tiffin
Feature –
1. Mel Morris
2. Pokey West, Westchester
3. John Moss, Iowa City
4. Bill Newman, Burlington
5. Ron Prymek, Iowa City
6. Ron Hemsted, Lone Tree
7. Jim Gerber, Long Grove
8. Bud Darting
9. Larry Jenkins
10.Ron Perdock, Washington

No comments:

Post a Comment