Saturday, June 5, 2021

1982 – Burgess wins ‘Nabbefeldt’ Twin 55’s

Steve Burgess

Wisconsin Dells, Wis. (June 5, 1982) – Steve Burgess of Eau Claire, Wis., thoroughly dominated the night’s racing program, setting fast time, and then winning both of the 55-lap Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial main events.

His only loss of the night was in the trophy dash, which was won by Tom Reffner off Rudolph, Wis.

Reffner finished second to Burgess in the first 55-lapper followed by Steve Holzhausen of Bangor, Wis., Mike Miller of Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., and Jim Weber of Roseville, Minn.

In the second 55-lapper, early leader Marv Marzofka of Nekoosa, Wis., came in a close second to Burgess with Jim Sauter of Necedah, Wis., in third and Mike Miller and Tom Reffner farther back in fourth and fifth.

Marzofka jumped to a half-lap lead by the mid-point of the second feature, but a blown engine on lap 35 erased Marzofka’s comfortable margin, and two laps later, Burgess had the top spot for good.

Burgess takes possession of the Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial traveling trophy for on year before returning to Dells Motor Speedway in 1983 to be contested again. Nabbfeldt, a veteran driver from Wisconsin Rapids, lost his life at the speedway in a racing accident in 1973.

The traveling trophies were the idea of the Nabbefeldt’s children. Mike Miller, the defending champion, relinquished the trophy at this year’s event.

In preliminary action, Mark Schultz of Wausau, Wis., Rich Lofy of Nekoosa, Wis., Tom Lichtfield of Montello, Wis., and Greg DeLapp of Mauston, Wis., were heat winners and Jim Dundey of Wausau, Wis., and Lofy won twin consolations.

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Steve Burgess, Eau Claire
2. Ton Reffner, Rudolph
3. Steve Holzhausen, Bangor
4. Mike Miller, Wisconsin Rapids
5. Jim Weber, Roseville, Minn.
6. Kevin Stepan, Mosinee
7. Marv Marzofka, Nekoosa
8. Jim Sauter, Necedah
9. Tony Strupp, Slinger
10.Bob Gunn, Madison

Feature #2 –

1. Steve Burgess
2. Marv Marzofka
3. Jim Sauter
4. Mike Miller
5. Tom Reffner
6. Bob Gunn
7. Kevin Stepan
8. Jim Weber
9. Tony Strupp
10.Steve Holzhausen

No comments:

Post a Comment