Monday, June 14, 2021

1974 - Bjorge Captures Cresco Spring Championship

Dave Bjorge

Cresco, Iowa (June 14, 1974) – Dave Bjorge continued to hold a firm grip on the late model feature event at the Howard County Fairgrounds, capturing the Spring Championship stock car title Friday night, his second win in as many races on the Cresco dirt oval.

Starting toward the rear of the pack, Bjorge moved into the fourth slot, on the eighth lap, and passed two cars on the next lap to assume second place in the 16-car field on the ninth lap following a restart.

The veteran Austin, Minn., driver was held off by New Hampton, Iowa’s, Ken Ferrell for the next two laps before Bjorge squeezed on the inside to take the lead and hold it for the remainder of the 25-lap feature.

Bob Shryock of Estherville, Iowa, and Wayne Peters of Rochester, Minn., finished second and third behind Bjorge.

The late model feature was marred by a crack-up on the grandstand straightaway when Gerhart Wollenburg of Austin, Minn., spun-out on the fourth turn and was hit broadside by Ron Kester of Brownsdale, Minn.

Both drivers escaped injury, but the two were forced from the race. Wollenburg was holding third place at the time of the crash, and Kester was fifth.

In the late model semi-feature event, Tom Bartholomew of Waterloo, Iowa, took first place honors, holding the lead from the start. Red Dralle of Waterloo, Iowa, and Al Greenman of Austin, Minn., finished behind the winner.

Results –

Heat #1 – Karl Sanger, Waterloo, Iowa
Heat #2 – Em Fretheim, Decorah, Iowa
Heat #3 – Ron Kester, Brownsdale, Minn.
Semi-main – Tom Bartholomew, Waterloo, Iowa
Feature –
1. Dave Bjorge, Austin, Minn.
2. Bob Shryock, Estherville, Iowa
3. Wayne Peters, Rochester, Minn.
4. Mert William, Rochester, Minn.
5. Karl Sanger
6. Ken Harrell, New Hampton, Iowa
7. John Grube, Cresco, Iowa
8. Em Fretheim
9. Larry Schmidt, New Hampton, Iowa
10.Red Dralle, Waterloo, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment