Sunday, February 14, 2021

1960 – Johnson Grabs Big Win at Daytona

Junior Johnson basks in the moment after winning the 1960 Daytona 500.

Daytona, Fla. (February 14, 1960) - A big, plumpish farmer from Ronda, N.C., is the new Daytona International Speedway 500 champion. 

Robert (Junior) Johnson won his title Sunday in the climactic event of a crash-punctuated weekend before 47,500 fans.

Johnson's average time for the late model stock car race was 124.740 miles per hour, compared to the 135.521 average made by Lee Petty of Randleman, N.C., in winning the 500 last year. But there were extenuating circumstances.

For 40 of the 200 laps on the 2.5-mile course, the yellow caution flag was fluttering because of mishaps, forcing the cars to a snail's pace.

Thirty-six of the 68 starting cars still were on the track as Johnson's 1959 Chevrolet got the checkered flag.

Behind Johnson and an apparent winner until the last eight laps, was Bobby Johns of Miami in a 1959 Pontiac. Johns lost his chance on the 192nd lap when he went into a spin on the backstretch.

Dick Petty of Randleman, N.C., finished third and his father Lee fourth. Both were driving 1960 Plymouths. Johnny Allen of Atlanta was fifth in a 1960 Chevrolet, followed by Ned Jarrett of Newton, N.C., in a 1960 Ford, Curtis Turner of Charlotte, N.C., in a 1960 Ford, Freddy Lorenzen of Elmhurst, Ill., in a 1960 Ford, Rex White of Spartanburg, S.C., in a 1960 Chevrolet, and Emanuel Zervakis of Richmond, Va., in a 1960 Chevrolet.

The only accident resulting in serious injury hospitalized Tommy Herbert of Miami with a broken rib and an eye injury.

Results –

1. Robert (Junior) Johnson, Ronda, N.C.
2. Bobby Johns, Miami, Fla.
3. Richard Petty, Randleman, N.C.
4. Lee Petty, Randleman, N.C.
5. Johnny Allen, Atlanta, Ga.
6. Ned Jarrett, Newton, N.C.
7. Curtis Turner, Charlotte, N.C.
8. Fred Lorenzen, Elmhurst, Ill.
9. Rex White. Spartanburg, S.C.
10.Emanuel Zervakis, Richmond, Va.

No comments:

Post a Comment