Tuesday, August 13, 2019

1967 – Moughan Wins at Fair

Eldon, Iowa (August 13, 1967) – Jim Moughan of Springfield, Ill., won the 15-lap feature event at the Wapello County Fair on Sunday to take home the lion’s share of the winnings.

Moughan took the feature in his Chevy-powered sprinter over such luminaries as Jerry Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., Jay Woodside of Kansas City and Lloyd Beckman of Lincoln, Neb. Drivers were severely hampered by the third and fourth turns on the half-mile track, which were almost too slick to support racing speeds.

Trackside kibitzers claimed the shade from the trees on the west end of the speedway and their roots, had a tendency to hold water in the track making it extremely hard to drive. And just to show that everybody can forget, the track condition was just right for the old “knobby” type tires, but only one car had access to them.

Chevrolet conversions dominated the racing by fans were treated to the when and snarl of the old Offenhausers as three of them entered the program. At a extreme disadvantage on the slow track, they didn’t do as well as they might have, but the sound was a sweet sound to the racing fan’s ear.

Ray Lee Goodwin of Kansas City provided plenty of excitement in the feature when he got his Chevy-powered car into the fence and flipped twice, landing back on its wheels. Goodwin said afterwards that his head hit the ground twice, but the roll bars never touched and there wasn’t a scratch on the machine.

Closer inspection after the race revealed a somewhat warped front axle but Goodwin said the car would be back in action in a few days. Goodwin was running fifth when the mishap occurred.

Heat winners were Don “Itch” Daniels St. Paul, Minn., Art Range of Sedalia, Mo., Tom Corbin of Carrollton, Mo., and Moughan. Lee Kunzman of Guttenberg, Iowa, won the consolation.

Results –

Heat #1 – Don Daniels, St. Paul, Minn.
Heat #2 – Art Range, Sedalia, Mo.
Heat #3 – Tom Corbin, Carrollton, Mo.
Heat #4 – Jim Moughan, Springfield, Ill.
Consolation – Lee Kunzman, Guttenberg, Iowa
Feature –
1. Jim Moughan
2. Tom Corbin
3. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
4. Jay Woodside, Kansas City
5. Lloyd Beckman, Lincoln, Neb.
6. Grady Wade, Wichita, Kan.
7. Bill Hudson, Montezuma, Iowa
8. Don Daniels
9. Stan Borofsky, Grandview, Mo.
10.Chuck Lynch, Springfield, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment