Wednesday, August 28, 2019

1959 – Leep Beats Folse in State Fair Race

Harold Leep took Chet Wilson's Chevy to victory at Des Moines.  

Des Moines, Iowa (August 28, 1959) – Harold Leep and converted stock motors had another big day at the Iowa State Fair Sunday afternoon as 14,000 watched the Wichita, Kan., driver win his second straight IMCA big car sprint feature here.

The 26-year-old, whose triumph Friday was regarded as somewhat a fluke, again beat International Motor Contest Association’s top-ranked Pete Folse – this time by a good 200-yard margin – over the 10-mile route.

Unlike Friday, when Leep passed Folse on the final lap, Leep overhauled his Offenhauser-powered rival on the third lap and was never headed.

Folse, from Tampa, Fla., was no match for Leep’s Chevrolet-powered outfit on the asphalt-like turns. Jerry Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., was third and Herschel Wagner of Hickman Hills, Mo., finished fourth.

Up to the consolation, open to previous non-money winners, not a single Offenhauser-powered machine won Chevy plants won the first four events.

Leep earned $700 for his main event win plus $50 for the fastest preliminary heat and another $40 for whipping Folse in the trophy dash.

Sunday’s performance swelled Leep’s earnings here to $1,539 in two days, though car owner Chet Wilson of Wichita, Kan., takes more than half.

Two other drivers besides Folse had frustrating afternoons.

Arnie Knepper of Belleville, Ill., was set back to fifth in the feature after he appeared to finish third, because of passing on a yellow flag on lap 14.

A lap later, Bill Holland, one-time Indianapolis 500 winner, who switched from the Mocca Offy to the Mueller Olds Sunday, pulled into the pits and never came back.

Results –

Heat #1 – Dale Reed, Wichita, Kan.
Heat #2 – Ray Duckworth, Anderson, Ind.
Heat #3 – Harold Leep, Wichita, Kan.
Trophy dash – Harold Leep
Consolation – Herschel Wagner, Hickman Hills, Mo.
Feature –
1. Harold Leep
2. Pete Folse, Tampa, Fla.
3. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
4. Herschel Wagner
5. Arnie Knepper
6. Colby Scroggin, Pasadena, Calif.
7. Dale Reed
8. Bill Sullivan, Novato, Calif.
9. Jerry Shumaker, Wichita, Kan.
10.Jerry Massey, Wilmington, Calif.
11.Jim Hemmings, North Vernon, Ind.
12.Hank Lawshe, Winchester, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment