Friday, August 30, 2019

1964 – Bowsher Scores Winchester ARCA Victory

Jack Bowsher

Winchester, Ind. (August 30, 1964) – Jack Bowsher wheeled his 1964 Ford to a 4.5-second victory over Iggy Katona in Sunday’s ARCA-sanctioned 100-lap stock car race at Winchester Speedway.

Bowsher toured the high-banked half-mile pavement 100 times in 35 minutes and 25 seconds to shatter the existing track record for 100 laps by more than 12 minutes. The old record was 45 minutes and 35 seconds turned in by Frankie Schneider in 1959.

Bowsher’s feature win added 100 points to his total and pushed him closer to the ARCA driving championship. Money-wise, he collected $535 of the $3,000 purse offered by owner-promoter Pete Wales.

Katona, piloting a 1964 Ford, was never more than a half-lap behind the fast-moving Bowsher and, at one point near the end of the race, had trimmed the margin to 2.2 seconds. Only one other driver finished on the same lap as Bowsher and Katona with Jim Cushman finishing third in a 1964 Plymouth. Cushman crossed the finish line to receive the white flag just a car-length ahead of Bowsher, who took the checkered at the same time.

By virtue of his fastest qualifying time, also a new track record, Bowsher started on the pole and jumped to a straightaway lead over Dick Freeman’s 1963 Pontiac on the first circuit. Freeman held second ahead of Katona and Cushman but began slowly dropping back at the halfway mark and finished fourth.

Katona passed Freeman on lap 51 and Bowsher lapped him on the 76th go-round, then set sail for Cushman only to run out of laps.

The entire program was accident free with only two spinouts to mar the afternoon’s activities. Stu Shouse spun his 1964 Pontiac on lap 24 and La Marr Marshall looped his 1962 Chevrolet in the first turn two laps later.

Results –

1. Jack Bowsher
2. Iggy Katona
3. Jim Cushman
4. Dick Freeman
5. John Summerville
6. Paul Wensink
7. Stu Shouse
8. Elmer Davis
9. Jerry Norris
10. Bill Clemons
11. John Baker
12. Jim Robinson
13. Jack Purcell
14. La Marr Marshall
15. Dick Dunlevy

No comments:

Post a Comment