Thursday, August 8, 2019

1965 – Richert Rides Win to Haute Victory

Tom Bigelow (42) patrols the inside rail while Jerry Richert (63) roosts the outside at Terre Haute. – Armin Krueger Photo

Terre Haute, Ind. (August 8, 1965) – In the most daring ride since the days of Tommy Hinnershitz, Jerry Richert of Forest Lake, Minn., the defending International Motor Contest Association sprint car champion, won Sunday’s 30-lap feature on the half-mile Vigo County Fairgrounds.

Richert started on the pole, out-surged Tom Bigelow of Whitewater, Wis., and went to the outside in his spectacular ride. Richert finished a half-lap ahead of Bigelow in 13 minute and 42 seconds before a slim crowd of 3,000, held down by bad weather in the area.

On lap 4 Gerry Calvet spun, and the yellow came out for four laps. When the green showed again, Bigelow jumped ahead of Richert for half a lap, which was Jerry’s only challenge of the race.

Placing third was Buzz Barton of Tampa, Fla., in the only Offenhauser to make the main event; fourth was Ron Larson of Miltown, Wis., and Dick Fries of San Diego, Calif., rounded out the top five.

Don Brown set fast time in qualifying with a time of 23.52 seconds, which tied for the 10th fastest lap ever turned at the track. Brown lost a rear end in the first heat and could not compete further.

Results –

Time Trials – Don Brown (23.52)
Trophy Dash – Jerry Richert
Heat #1 – Gordon Wooley
Heat #2 – Chuck Taylor
Heat #3 – Ray Duckworth
Consolation – Jim Moughan
Feature –

1. Jerry Richert
2. Tom Bigelow
3. Buzz Barton
4. Ron Larson
5. Dick Fries
6. Harold Smith
7. Gordon Wooley
8. Karl Busson
9. Jim Williams
10. Chuck Taylor
11. Benny Rapp
12. Ray Duckworth
13. Gene Baxter
14. Dean Mast
15. Dale Reed
16. Gerry Calvet

No comments:

Post a Comment