Wednesday, August 14, 2019

1966 – Woodside Captures Knoxville Race Crown

Champion Jay Woodside (center) is joined by promoter Marion Robinson (far left), third-place finisher Ken Weld (left) and runner-up Lloyd Beckman (right).

Knoxville, Iowa (August 14, 1966) – Jay Woodside of Kansas City grabbed the lead with five laps to go and won the rain-delayed Super Modified National Championship race on Sunday afternoon.

The race was postponed from Saturday night because of rain after two preliminary events.

Woodside, 27, a 11-year racing veteran, finished four car lengths ahead of Lloyd Beckman of Lincoln, Neb., and Kenny Weld of Kansas City, seeking his third straight national championship.

Weld moved into the early lead, pacing the 20-car field through the first 6 of the scheduled 25 laps. Ray Lee Goodwin, also of Kansas City took over the lead on lap 7 and led the next eight circuits until Beckman took over and led until lap 19. Woodside was never worse than third.

Earl Wagner of Pleasantville paced the Iowa contingent, placing eighth in the main event. Mason City’s Stacy Redmond placed thirteenth and Jim Lowary of Scranton was seventeenth.

Minor spin outs stopped action on the Marion County Fairgrounds half-mile three times and no time was posted.

A crowd of 6,233 watched Saturday’s rain-shortened program and about the same number showed up for the Sunday matinee.

Woodside picked up $2,500 for the victory. Beckman earned $1,500 and Weld took home $1,000.

Bud Marsh of Miami, Okla., captured Sunday’s 12-lap B-main with Buddy Taylor of Albuquerque, N.M., running second. Nick Rowe of Portland, Mich., was the consolation winner.

Results –

1. Jay Woodside, Kansas City
2. Lloyd Beckman, Lincoln, Neb.
3. Ken Weld, Kansas City
4. Ken Taylor, Slater, Mo.
5. Tom Bigelow, Whitewater, Wis.
6. Bob Williams, Independence, Mo.
7. Jerry Weld, Kansas City
8. Earl Wagner, Pleasantville, Iowa
9. Larry Cannon, Danville, Ill.
10. Don Edmunds, Anaheim, Calif.
11. Wes Farrand, Kansas City
12. Harold Leep, Wichita, Kan.
13. Stacy Redmond, Mason City, Iowa
14. Cliff Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
15. B.H. Wilkerson, El Monte, Calif.
16. Junior Dietzel, Jamestown, Mo.
17. Jim Lowary, Scranton, Iowa
18. Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City
19. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
20. Dick Sutcliffe, Greenwood, Mo.

No comments:

Post a Comment