Sunday, April 25, 2021

1982 – Schulte wins IMCA ‘Spring Fever 100’

Vinton, Iowa (April 25, 1982) – Mike Schulte of Norway, Iowa, drove to victory Sunday in the Spring Fever 100 IMCA modified race at Vinton Speedway.

Schulte, the 1981 Iowa IMCA point champion, took the lead late in the event to pocket the $500 top prize. Mike Krall of Waterloo, Iowa, was second with Arlo Becker of Atkins, Iowa, third, Ron Hurst of Cedar Falls, Iowa, fourth and Mike Sampson of Evansdale, Iowa, fifth.

Greg Kastli of Waterloo was fast timer with a lap of 16.99 seconds on the quarter-mile Benton County Fairgrounds’ track. That gave Kastli the pole position for the 100-lap main.

Kastli drove into the lead from the start but fell out after 21 laps with a hole in his radiator. Arlo Becker took over the top spot and led for more than half the race when he was passed by defending track champion Jack Mitchell of Cedar Falls.

Mitchell, however, would lead for only a few laps when he dropped out with mechanical issues, setting up a battle between Schulte and Krall.

The modified event drew 39 cars, from both the Iowa and Illinois side of the Mississippi River.

The 50-lap altered street stock contest was won by Duane Van Deest of Grundy Center, Iowa, after a torrid battle with Merv Chandler of Walford, Iowa.

Results –

1. Mike Schulte, Norway
2. Mike Krall, Waterloo
3. Arlo Becker, Atkins
4. Ron Hurst, Cedar Falls
5. Mike Sampson, Evansdale
6. Bob Bowser, Cedar Rapids
7. Rollie Hahn, Grand Mound
8. Tom Fitzpatrick, Gilbertville
9. Mike Wheeler, Davenport
10.Max Leonard, Shellsburg
11.Jim Schmuecker, Vinton
12.Dan Higdon, Vinton
13.Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls
14.Greg Seitz, Waterloo
15.Dave Swarts, Cedar Falls

No comments:

Post a Comment