Saturday, April 3, 2021

1982 – Hearst Wins Sedalia Frost Buster

Tom Hearst

Sedalia, Mo. (April 3, 1982) - Tom Hearst of Wilton, Iowa, made it two in a row in the late model division of the Frost Buster, winning the event for the second successive year as the 1982 Missouri State Fairgrounds racing season kicked off.

Hearst, a National Speedways Contest Association regular, passed Bill Moyer of Des Moines in turn one of lap 10 and was never really pressured for the rest of the 30-lap late model feature,

Ronnie Hoover of Fulton, Mo., jumped into the lead at the drop of the green flag, but was overtaken by Moyer on the second lap Moyer led for the next nine laps until he was passed by Hearst.

The real battle was for second spot, as Moyer fought to hold off Bill Martin of Council Bluffs. Iowa, and Kevin Gundaker of St Louis. Gundaker passed Martin on lap 15 to move into third.

Lap 18 almost proved disastrous for the leaders, as cars driven by Bill Breuer of Wapello, Iowa and Craig Spetman, Omaha, Neb., spun in turn two. Hearst, Moyer and Gundaker had to drive high to avoid the spin.

Gundaker passed Moyer on the 23rd lap to take over second place, but was unable to overhaul Hearst, who held on for the win.

After the race, Hearst said that he knew Gundaker was behind him but, “I felt I could outrun anyone today.”

In the first heat, Jim Turpin of Jefferson City, Mo., broke the frost for the 750 chilled fans, as he got up high in turn three and rolled his car over the guard rail.

The heat races were won by Richard Crane, Palmyra, Mo.; Mark Fleischman, Jefferson City; Martin and Ken Walton, Viola, Iowa.

Hearst had fast time for the afternoon, making the half-mile circuit in 24.32 seconds.

Results –

1. Tom Hearst
2. Kevin Gundaker
3. Billy Moyer
4. Roger Thompson
5. Vic Bentlage
6. Ronnie Hoover
7. Rick Beebe
8. Sam Jacobs
9. Andy Claiborne
10.Bill Martin
11.Joe Cobb
12.Richard Crane
13. Mark Fleishman
14.John Edwards
15.Mark Kutina
16.Jim Turpin
17.Bobby Goulden
18.Bill Breuer
19.Mike Klinkhammer
20.Ed Dixon
21.Keith White
22.Ken Walton
23.Craig Spetman

No comments:

Post a Comment