Thursday, April 29, 2021

1979 - Eddy wins Salem ASA Raider 150

Mike Eddy

Salem, Ind. (April 29, 1979) – Mike Eddy of Midland, Mich., continued his domination of American Speed Association events at Salem Super Speedway Sunday with a victory worth $3,055 in the Raider 150 as his competition wilted.

Eddy took the lead from Rick Knotts on lap 16, withstood challenges from Mark Martin and Randy Sweet, but had more than a full lap lead at the finish as others suffered assorted problems.

Sweet was running a strong second when a broken valve sidelined his Camaro with only 13 laps remaining, continuing a streak of bad luck that has Plagued Sweet throughout the young season.

Martin, who was Eddy’s most serious challenger through the middle 50 circuits, lost three laps when he had to pit under green to change a punctured tire on his Camaro.

A surprised Bob Sensiba finished second followed by Terry Senneker, Ray Young and Rodney Combs.

Rick Knotts grabbed the early lead from his pole position, but his Camaro gave way to Eddy and then faded into fourth place before retiring with transmission troubles at the 100-lap mark.

Terry Senneker brought out the first caution on lap 32 with a spin in turn two. Eddy was leading Knotts, Martin and Dave Roahrig. At that point things remained that way until Dave Watson brought out the second yellow by crashing into the main stretch wall on lap 47.

Several more cautions, including one for a yellow flag that broke off the rear of the pace car, dotted the event.

Eddy, Martin and Sweet continued their three-car dash until lap 117 when Martin stopped. Sweet’s misfortune, despite hi signal’s crew to “be patient,” sealed the win for Eddy.

Sweet established a new one-lap track record in time trials at 17.044 seconds (114.058 miles per hour), erasing hiss own record set in 1977 at 17.171 seconds.

Results –

1. Mike Eddy, Midland, Mich.
2. Bob Sensiba, Middleville, Mich.
3. Terry Senneker, Grand Rapids, Mich.
4. Ray Young, Dolton, Ill
5. Rodney Combs, Loveland, Ohio
6. Don Gregory, Columbus, Ohio
7. Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark.
8. Larry Schuler, Lockport, Ill.
9. Dave Evans, Crystal Lake, Ill.
10.Randy Sweet, Kalamazoo, Mich.
11.Don Johnson, Hillard, Ohio
12.David Hall, Grandview, Mo.
13.Tom Brown, Louisville, Ky.
14.Terry Shirley, Seymour, Ind.
15.Bob Theriault, Chicago

No comments:

Post a Comment