Saturday, May 2, 2020

1982 - Senneker takes ASA 'Badgerland 150'

Milwaukee, Wis. (May 2, 1982) – Bob Senneker continued a long string of successes at the Milwaukee Mile by winning the ASA-AMSOIL Racing Series ‘Badgerland 150’ edging Alan Kulwicki by a narrow half-second margin that capped a spectacular late race duel.

The final 20 miles of the 150-mile event saw Senneker’s ’81 Camaro and Kulwicki’s ’82 Firebird just inches apart in an all-out scrap.

Mike Eddy was third and Butch Miller was fourth. Bobby Dotter was fifth, a lap off the pace for his best-ever ASA finish; Minnesota’s Mel Whalen drove an inspired race to finish sixth, and the top ten was filled out by Harold Fair, Billy Kuhn, rookie Kent Stauffer, and Rusty Wallace.

For Senneker, the win – an unpreceded 36th in American Speed Association competition – offered welcome relief from a skein of early season misfortune, including a massively damaging first-lap crash at Nashville and a flame ride at Atlanta when an oil filter exploded onto hi headers.

“I would have been happy just to finish,” Senneker commented after the race. “But to win is frosting on the cake.”

Senneker collected $6,000 of a $39,425 purse for the win, his third out of six ASA 150-mile events at Milwaukee since 1978. He has completed 100% of a possible 600 miles in competition during that time.

Results –

1. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
2. Alan Kulwicki, Milwaukee, Wis.
3. Mike Eddy, Midland, Mich.
4. Butch Miller, Lawton, Mich.
5. Bobby Dotter, Chicago
6. Mel Whalen, Shakopee, Minn.
7. Harold Fair, Livonia, Mich.
8. Billy Kuhn, Frankfort, Ill.
9. Kent Stauffer, Elyria, Ohio
10. Rusty Wallace, Valley Park, Mo.
11. John Knaus, Rockford, Ill.
12. Buddy Schrock, North Liberty, Ind.
13. Ray Young, Dolton, Ill.
14. Tom Harrington, Loveland, Ohio
15. Dennis Lampman, Oak Creek, Wis.
16. Dennis Vogel, Manitowoc, Wis.
17. Mark Hall, Kansas City
18. Rick Hanley, Dousman, Wis.
19. Dave Jensen, Independence, Mo.
20. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
21. Ed Evans, West Allis, Wis.
22. Don Ely, Kingman, Kan.
23. Al Schill, Franklin, Wis.
24. Gene Mathu, Luxemburg, Wis.
25. Jack Drolema, Grand Rapids, Mich.
26. Bobby Tinkham, Youngstown, Ohio
27. Bob Strait, Flossmoor, Ill.
28. Jim Sauter, Necedah, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment