Tuesday, May 12, 2020

1963 – Crowe is USAC Sprint Winner

Allen Crowe is surrounded by well-wishers after scoring his first career USAC sprint car victory. - Steve Estes Collection 

Rossburg, Ohio (May 12, 1963) – Allen Crowe of Springfield, Ill., won Sunday's United States Auto Club national sprint car series race while Indianapolis Speedway record smasher Parnelli Jones watched helplessly from the infield.

Jones, who drove a lap at 152.027 miles an hour on the Memorial Day "500" track Saturday, was forced out of action Sunday when his car's crankshaft broke before he could complete his first qualifying lap.

Crowe, 34, took the lead on the 16th lap of the 30-lap feature over the approximately half-mile oval and pulled away from Chuck Hulse of Downey, Calif., finishing a quarter-lap ahead.

The winning time was 10 minutes 14.61 seconds.

First place, including heat money, was worth $850 to Crowe – who has three youngsters to support.

Al Miller of Roseville, Mich., treated the crowd of 3,800 to an impressive performance when he finished third after starting 11th.

Roger McCluskey of Tucson, Ariz., won the pole position as the fastest qualifier, doing one lap in 18.77 seconds, but settled for fourth place in the main event.

Results –

1. Allen Crowe
2. Chuck Hulse
3. Al Miller
4. Roger McCluskey
5. Zeke England
6. Mickey Shaw
7. Jiggs Peters
8. Roy Robbins
9. Troy Ruttman
10.Steve Stapp

No comments:

Post a Comment