Friday, May 29, 2020

1964 – Morehouse Wins Valley Feature

Cliff Morehouse

Davenport, Iowa (May 29, 1964) - Clint Morehouse, Moline, Ill., and Benny Hofer, Rock Island, Ill., waged a grueling duel for 30 laps before the former came out in front by less than a car’s length to win the modified division feature last night at Davenport’s Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds

Close to 4,500 fans watched Morehouse and Hofer battle down to the finish line with Tuffy Meyers, Clarence, placing a close third. It was Morehouse’s first feature victory at the Davenport track.

Earlier in the competition the Moline driver won the second heat race in the modified class, edging Iowa City’s Johnny Moss. Other heat winners were “Slim” Prior, Moline, Ill., and Jerry Reinhart, Moline, Ill.

Capturing honors in the semifinal dash was Meyers. Hal Schroeder, Davenport, won the consolation event.

Crack-ups came at a fast pace in the modified feature race with six cars going to the sidelines during the first three laps. Dean Montgomery, Milan, Ill., then slammed into a light pole on lap 7 and was put out of commission This accident also delayed competition for several minutes.

Results –

Heat #1 – Slim Prior, Moline, Ill.

Heat #2 – Clint Morehouse, Moline, Ill.

Heat #3 – Jerry Reinhart, Moline, Ill. 

Semi-feature - Tuffy Meyers, Clarence

Consolation – Hal Schroeder, Davenport

Feature –

1. Clint Morehouse
2. Benny Hofer, Rock Island, Ill.
3. Tuffy Meyers
4. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
5. Don Bohlander, Glasford, Ill.
6. Lloyd Caldwell, Prophetstown, Ill.
7. Red Droste, Waterloo
8. Blaine Morrow, Milan, Ill.
9. Jim Gerber, Davenport
10.Ray Guss, Milan, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment