Saturday, February 1, 2020

1970 – IMCA Sprint Car Opener to York

Tom York won the IMCA sprint car season opener at Middle Georgia Raceway. - Terry Dennis Collection

Macon, Ga. (February 1, 1970) – Tom York, driving the Torch Lounge Special, led from start to finish to win the 40-lap International Motor Contest Association sprint car season opener at Middle Georgia Raceway on Sunday afternoon.

York, starting on the outside of the front row, jumped into the lead at the wave of the green flag and was never headed. Don Mack, behind the wheel of the Campbell Chevy, took the checkered flag for second-place money. Third-place honors went to Florida’s Wayne Reutimann driving the Kash & Karry Chevrolet.

There was no time for the feature due to the caution laps. In one incident, Jan Opperman crashed into the second turn wall when he hit an oil slick after Jay Woodside blew an engine.

Rounding out the top-10 finishers were Jerry Blundy, Bob Kinser, Darl Harrison, Eddie Leavitt, Jerry Richert, Kenny Weld and Benny Rapp.

Reutimann turned in fast time on the day on the half-mile banked track with a one-lap clocking of 18.845 seconds. Harrison turned in second fastest time of 19.117 seconds.

Heat races were won by York, Blundy and Gene Gennetten. Woodside won the consolation with Mack taking the STP trophy dash.

Results –

Time trials – Wayne Reutimann (18.845)
STP Trophy Dash – Don Mack
First Heat – Tom York
Second Heat – Jerry Blundy
Third Heat – Gene Gennetten
Consolation – Jay Woodside
Feature –

1. Tom York
2. Don Mack
3. Wayne Reutimann
4. Jerry Blundy
5. Bob Kinser
6. Darl Harrison
7. Eddie Leavitt
8. Jerry Richert
9. Kenny Weld
10.Benny Rapp

No comments:

Post a Comment