Tuesday, February 18, 2020

1967 – Daniels wins second straight Tampa main

Jerry Daniels

Tampa, Fla. (February 18, 1967) – Jerry “Scratch” Daniels of St. Paul, Minn., won his second consecutive IMCA Winternationals sprint car feature at the Florida State Fair on Saturday afternoon, but had to withstand the determination of Jerry Poland off Somerville, Ohio, for the full 50 circuits.

It was Poland all over Daniels’ tailpipe as starter Johnny Hicks dropped the checkered flag with Tom Bigelow of Whitewater, Wis., a close third.

The 25-mile race was completed in 27 minutes and 16.57 seconds, slowed by the 14 laps run under the caution flag.

Jerry Richert of Forest Lake, Minn., the defending IMCA champion, won the first heat, Buzz Barton of Tampa, Fla., the second heat and Rollie Beale of Toledo, Ohio, the third. The consolation top honors went to Karl Busson of Toledo, Ohio.

In winning the feature and placing fourth in his heat, Daniels gathered enough points to clinch the Winternationals crown and earn a huge trophy.

The first part of the feature as the most eventful as spinning cars brought out the yellow three times. On thee second lap, Bill Puterbaugh of Roxana, Ill., and Gordon Woolley of Waco, Tex., hooked up in a spin that caused no damage.

Then, two laps later, Barton, Puterbaugh, and Ralph Blackett of Coffeyville, Kan., hooked together in the same turn. This time, Puterbaugh was towed to the infield.

After two more racing laps, Bobby Adamson of Coraopolis, Penn., lost a rear wheel in turn four, bringing out the third and final yellow.

Each time, Daniels was forced to gun hard on the restarts to maintain the front position he held.

Results –

Heat #1 – Jerry Richert
Heat #2 – Buzz Barton
Heat #3 – Rollie Beale
Consolation – Karl Busson
Feature –
1. Jerry Daniels
2. Jerry Poland
3. Tom Bigelow
4. Darl Harrison
5. Gene Tallman
6. Jerry Blundy
7. Steve Ungar
8. Bill Roynon
9. Benny Rapp
10.Don Hewitt

No comments:

Post a Comment